Procrastination! The mother of all creative life monsters

I’ve been trying to read and write since the Christmas and New Year holidays ended in early Jan. Feb is ending in three days and still no luck.

Here’s one thing I know about time. Days make up weeks and weeks make up months. I hate when the months go by and I can’t say I did anything with my time.

Right now am praying for grace. Cause my mind can’t seem to get out of vacation mode. I’ve probably read and abandoned about six books this month without finishing. I won’t mention the many tabs of unfinished books in my head even before that.

How do I get out of this particular hole?

“It’s easy to feel guilty when procrastinating but creativity doesn’t just turn on like a facet. Work hard but don’t be hard on yourself”

Quote by an unknown author

Last year I labelled myself a master creative/artistic procrastinator.

Saying and believing that there is a thin line between lazy and creative/artistic procrastination. Lazy is unproductive while creative/artistic procrastination is always rewarding.

Case in point — Me. I am a master procrastinator. But my level of efficiency and production is higher than average. And so it is for my creative friends labelled lazy.

Essentially, looking in from the outside my methodology is chaotic and counterproductive, but it’s perfect for me. My friends and I call it beautifully organized chaos (credit term to Gabriel Mundaka).

Am not so convinced right now though….It could be a binary truth. That I am actively wasting time but also creatively procrastinating.

Because to say that am completely incapacitated creatively would not be true. Writing this is me creating and putting to action.

Even though it’s taken me much longer to type, edit, and post. What do you think?


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started